Does concrete melt?

Status
Not open for further replies.

qed

9-11 Debunker, Steven Dutch (Natural and Applied Sciences, of the University of Wisconsin), has this to say

If the World Trade Center was hot enough to melt steel, where's all the molten concrete? Iron melts around 1500o C but so do many of the silicate minerals in concrete, and a mixture of silicate minerals would melt at a temperature lower than any of the individual minerals (I'm a geologist - I get paid to know about stuff like that). The fine particle size of the concrete dust would facilitate melting. So why wasn't there a huge puddle of molten concrete at Ground Zero? (There was some, but about what you'd expect from a large fire; certainly not what you'd expect from something hot enough to melt large amounts of steel.)
Content from External Source
  • Does concrete melt?

9-11 Debunker, Steven Dutch (Natural and Applied Sciences, of the University of Wisconsin), has this to say

If the World Trade Center was hot enough to melt steel, where's all the molten concrete? Iron melts around 1500o C but so do many of the silicate minerals in concrete, and a mixture of silicate minerals would melt at a temperature lower than any of the individual minerals (I'm a geologist - I get paid to know about stuff like that). The fine particle size of the concrete dust would facilitate melting. So why wasn't there a huge puddle of molten concrete at Ground Zero? (There was some, but about what you'd expect from a large fire; certainly not what you'd expect from something hot enough to melt large amounts of steel.)
  • Does concrete melt?

Your premise is that the WTC fires were hot enough to melt steel and therefore should melt concrete. Please provide evidence to support this but before you do please read the 7 pages of this other thread. https://www.metabunk.org/threads/molten-and-glowing-metal.2029/

Last edited by a moderator:
@Landru

All I am asking is if concrete can melt.