My Escape From the Rabbit Hole - Pinkbunion

Pinkbunion

Escaped the Rabbit Hole for almost 2 years - after 12 years of Conspiracy Theories and Religion

Hello everyone, this is my first time to post on this forum, and I'm quite nervous about it. I fell in the rabbit hole of conspiracy theories in 2010 (not sure) when I looked up my favorite band, and the search result with the band's name and illuminati came up. I ended up on vigilantcitizen.com, got intrigued by the articles, and on it went. These beliefs were pretty much maintained until the year 2020. The escape all started last September 2020, when I watched a conspiracy theorist video that exposed the evil of the Old Testament (the creator was not Christian) and the reasons why some crazier conspiracy theories were false. So, first, I am going to relate what happened to my beliefs from 2010-2014, where it remained the same. Second, I'll discuss what I believed during 2014-2020, where there was a shift in my beliefs and I became more doubtful of some theories, but became more committed and certain of others. Finally, I'll state my beliefs from September 2020 to now, when I escaped from the rabbit hole.

My journey down the rabbit hole all started in the year 2010. I was searching for the name of my favorite band in the Google search engine. One of the suggested search results was the band's name plus the illuminati word. At the time, I laughed it off because in my mind it was too absurd. How could a music band be affiliated with a "world elite" that controls the world? However, I still clicked on it. I then encountered the website called vigilantcitizen.com, read their articles, and got intrigued by what it was all about. The first article I read, which was about the band and the illuminati, confused me because it was all new to me. However, as the months went by, it all became clearer and scarier. I also became more addicted to reading the articles and then I came to believe the theories themselves.