Dr Phil Metzger's Take on the Nimitz Incident (Post UAP Hearing)

DavidB66

Senior Member.
This may not be the best thread for what follows, but it does arise from discussions of the recent House committee hearing.

Mick West and Art Levine have both retweeted a comment on Twitter (X?) by a Dr Phil Metzger, who describes himself as a planetary scientist who has previously worked on radar analysis at NASA. His Twitter account is 'verified', which means very little, but a Florida Space Institute webpage does list a Dr Philip Metzger who meets the description in the Twitter account, so I will assume it is genuine.

Metzger's initial comment was that:

Lots of people are telling me that the radar observations make the aviator TicTac observations more likely an advanced vehicle, but tbh the radar observations are my biggest cause for doubt. (I used to be a radar/avionics engineer for NASA for many years chasing such anomalies.)

Amazingly, this provoked some disagreement! When not merely personal insults, the objections mostly boiled down to 'you're not an expert on Navy radars' and 'trust the highly trained pilots'. But in response to one comment Metzger gave one of the best skeptical summaries of the evidence as a whole that I have seen:

Thank you for sharing this. Apologies for the long reply. I just studied this and read it entirely. I have read some other material on these events, and this confirms what I had seen previously. I don’t see anything compelling about an advanced aerial vehicle in this. It seems like

(1) random radar anomalies,

(2) Hawkeye saw nothing except maybe locked into waves at a much lower altitude than the Princeton reported (so likely unrelated).

(3) The first pilot only saw the water disturbance, nothing else.