TFTRH #28 - Brian Dunning

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yk9C4XkCMD8

Brian Dunning is a prolific skeptical podcaster with his award-winning show “Skeptoid” coming up on its 700th episode. He’s also a writer, with his most recent book Conspiracies Declassified: The Skeptoid Guide to the Truth Behind the Theories, explaining the facts behind 50 different conspiracy theories. He’s also a documentary producer, currently working on Science Friction, a documentary about scientists who get misrepresented by the media. We discuss all these topics and more.

Really enjoyed the, too short, discussion about Deepfakes, deep neural networks and AI faked videos and the potentially unwinnable arms race. Great stuff.

This reminded me of something sort of related.

I’m certainly aware of Mick's game dev history and as a long-ago game artist myself, I was always asked “when are we going to see photoreal games that are indistinguishable from reality?”.

Years ago, many of my coworkers always seemed to more or less agree “10-15 years”, while I always thought we’re, at least, several decades away.

That time has since long since passed.

There are some stunningly beautiful games out there right now, but 10-15 years from now they are indistinguishable from photographic reality? I’m still skeptical ;)

I think there's real-time face rendering that's getting pretty close.

Getting close, for sure.

I was going to say I probably should’ve said indistinguishable real-time 3D because those clips are pre-rendered, but after poking around a bit I was reminded the last two clips, “Siren” and Andy Serkis, are real-time using Unreal Engine. Pretty nice.

I think all those clips are all still firmly in the Uncanny Valley, though.

But, when we do get to photoreal, real-time 3D video, it’s going to make Deepfakes look like child’s play.

Reality Defender 2020, Concerted Effort by The AI Foundation Nonprofit, Kicks Off to Protect US Elections from Deepfakes & Media Manipulation