Aluminum Theory's Debunking Tips.

AluminumTheory

Senior Member.
Take this for what it's worth as I'm basically a noob at this myself but I figured I would share some of my methods when debunking various conspiracy theories.

1. Try to use well documented and well researched facts to support your claims as opposed to links to Wikipedia or news articles.

Most conspiracy theorists tend to ignore anything that comes from the "establishment" whether it is establishment media, establishment politics, etc. This is essentially a shortcut to avoid discussing evidence that doesn't exactly fit in with their theories even though they'll present their own brand of highly questionable sources all day long. I'll use my most recent debunking as an example. In this thread, alot of allegations are made regarding Ruslan Tsarni's connections terrorism and the CIA. Your typical CT is probably just going to throw a few articles at you and ask you to explain them away. You can always refute them by throwing your own articles at them but more often than not, you hear something along the lines of "left wing msm bias bullcrap". You won't get anywhere and the discussion will inevitably devolve into a CNN said this and Infowars said that type of scenario. To debunk the claims that Tsarni operated a business from his home, I researched the legal definitions of "Resident Agent" and "Principal Office", and I even provided other examples of mismatch between actual locations and the addresses listed with the state of Maryland. The facts I presented are based on official documentation and they are independently verifiable by anyone with internet access. This is quite a bit harder to refute than a news article you're not just dealing with an opinion.

2. Make sure you are getting the full story and it's details.