Why do people believe conspiracies?

Dan Wilson

Senior Member.
Hello, I am new to this web site but I have enjoyed reading the discussions here for a long time now. I often wonder what makes conspiracy theories so abundant and easy to spread. I recently came across a study done by psychologist Jennifer Whitson at the University of Texas testing the influences of uncertainty on pattern recognition. The general hypothesis of her experiment was that when people have uncertainty and lack control, they are more likely to make connections and see patterns that aren't there.
She was featured in Through The Wormhole with Morgan Freeman, her segment starts at 18:02
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vm971ltF44A

Her experiment results were also published in Science. Here are some quotes from her paper:
Parachute jumpers are more likely to see a nonexistent figure in a picture of visual noise just before a jump than at an earlier time (22). Baseball players create rituals in direct proportion to the capriciousness of their position (for example, pitchers are particularly likely to see connections between the shirt they wear and success) (23). First-year MBA students are more susceptible to conspiratorial perceptions than are second-year students (24). Even on a national level, when times are economically uncertain, superstitions increase (25). These anthropological observations and correlational studies all provide suggestive but nonconclusive evidence that lacking control leads to the perception of illusory patterns.
Content from External Source