Can Skyscrapers Fall Over on Their Side?

Who knows if they could have used Hudson River water to replenish the sprinkler system???
As a suitably qualified engineer I would say it was highly probable. Whether it was capable of providing the quantity I cannot guess. Remember distance (horizontal) hose capacity, pumping capacity both H and Q... 47 storeys is a significant lift. Nothing compared with 110. I've often mused as to all the presumptions that it would be an easy, routine job to supply water for firefighting at EITHER 47 or 110 storeys. There is significant high-pressure issue limitations and I have no idea how well equipped the NY firefighters are. Obviously, there was no time for emergency large scale pumping at the Twin Towers. And don't be deceived by the apparent 7 hours for WTC7. It was unsafe to enter long before the collapse. Physical logistics may have been possible for pumping the Hudson. The time available certainly wasn't.

And the fire chief made his decision considering them and their effectiveness.
That is the bottom line. The decision was made. And no one AFAIK has ever made a valid criticism of what was the appropriate command decision. Emergency decisions have to be made in real time. NOT 20 years later with half-informed 5/20 hindsight.
Which means your call for "urgency" falls flat yet again.
Your quote shows the fire chief had the area evacuated 3 hours before the building collapsed; I fail to see what additional "urgency" could have achieved here.
It wouldn't change the argument if WTC7 had survived 15 hours before the collapse.

It wouldn't change the argument if WTC7 had survived 15 hours before the collapse.
Can you say a bit more about why this wouldn't matter?