Ufo over Ibiza: meteor, missile, rocket or simply contrails? [Contrail. Maybe Flight VY2425]

jonnyH

Senior Member.
Comment from the video on youtube:

The translation is a bit rough but it seems to dismiss the possibility that it is a meteorite. Not sure whether they are saying it is, or isn't likely to be a rocket or a missile. From the time of day and the shadows I'm guessing its travelling roughly from west to east which is consistent with flight paths over the island.

Looks like a contrail to me, but I'm no expert.

Mick West

Administrator
Staff member
I'm an expert :) It looks and moves exactly like a short contrail. There's nothing to suggest it's not a contrail. It's simply people unfamiliar with seeing short contrails in that position in the sky.

Compare it against another contrail, not quite the same, but the same kind of thing:

Looks somewhat like a 747 contrail, but hard to tell at that size. Something like this, but from really far away:

Some similar short plane contrails:

If it were at sunset, then they would think it was a fireball.
http://contrailscience.com/short-sunlit-contrails-look-like-ufos/

Last edited:

jonnyH

Senior Member.
probably this Ryanair 737?

Attachments

• ibiza ufo 2.tiff
    422.4 KB · Views: 853
  • ibiza ufo.tiff
    464 KB · Views: 880

jonnyH

Senior Member.
Now I'm confused.

I perhaps should have read the article linked in the OP earlier rather than just viewing the video. It states that the "UFO" was travelling west.

In the clip, the sun is clearly on their backs, its the early evening so that puts the sun in the west which means they must be looking east, right?

I think I got the time wrong too.

Mick West

Administrator
Staff member
This appears to be in Ibiza, pointing west: I think that it might be a recreation, done the next morning.

Last edited:

jonnyH

Senior Member.
what to make of this?

Mick West

Administrator
Staff member
what to make of this?