Osama: When and how?

jedik77

Hi from Croatia, my first post here :)

Since this is quite a big forum, i suppose youve talked about this already. I'll ask it anyway, and if you can direct me to the previous posts i would be thankfull...

I would like to know: How long after the attacks US media started to talk about Osama bin Laden as one of the suspects (or the only one) for the attacks? Another question may be: how did the media got that name, from which sources? Can that informations can be found?

Im a journalist myself, and i think that origin and flow of informations are very important issues when talking about media coverage of some event, especially as important and big one as 9/11 attacks.

Thanks for the answers!

Just combing through wiki...
Prior to his death on May 2, 2011, the FBI listed bin Laden as one of the "10 Most Wanted" in connection with several incidents including the USS Cole bombing and the 1998 United States embassy bombings in East Africa. The FBI's "FBI Most Wanted Terrorists" poster does not specifically hang responsibility for 9/11 on bin Laden, instead it only states "Bin Laden is a suspect in other terrorist attacks throughout the world."[56]

Immediately after September 11, 2001 bin Laden praised the attacks,[57] but denied responsibility for them.[58]
On September 16, 2001, an Al Jazeera news presenter read a message purportedly signed by Osama bin Laden, in which the following words were stated:
I stress that I have not carried out this act, which appears to have been carried out by individuals with their own motivation.[58][59]