Interesting Refraction/Diffraction phenomenon [Subhorizon halos: Sub-sun, Sub-sundog]

justanairlinepilot

Senior Member.

[Full sized images attached]

Can anyone help me out with describing the why this particular shape takes place? I've been flying for 27 years and have only seen this phenomenon twice, all within a month (coincidentally).

Details...
Both photos were taken at around 35,000 feet. One was in Mississippi, the other was over New York State somewhere. Keep in mind the window is about 2.5 inches thick of laminated poly. If there are other details missing I will be more than happy describing what I can.

I understand the meteorological term, "sun dog" so don't bother with that.

Attachments

• IMG_1600[1].JPG
    IMG_1600[1].JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 824
  • IMG_1459[2].JPG
    IMG_1459[2].JPG
    801 KB · Views: 540
Last edited by a moderator:
Sun dog.

Just kidding, but the first photos does look like a pair of sun dogs, with the difference being they are not next to the sun, but are centered on what looks like a reflection or refraction of the sun.

The second photo shows the same thing, but without the "sun dogs" on the side. My suspicion would be that the bright spots in the middle are actually refractions of the sun, and spots on the side of the first image are actually refractions of sun dogs.

Are there any more photos, wider angle?

unfortunately it's just my iphone 5. Keep in mind I'm traveling at just over 500 mph, but that seems irrelevant. This photo op only lasted about 30 seconds.

yes, maybe it's just a reflection of a refraction? I find it very interesting.

My question is why? Why does it pose itself in this image? Why not some other image? It is consistently the same shape/image.

Maybe it's as simple as asking why a rainbow looks the way it does...but so far, I haven't found anyone able to explain what I'm asking.