Helping parents who think they have "Chemtrail Flu"

vividaether

Well it looks like Kristen has shown her hand at last.

Hi guys. I came here from this video and joined this fine establishment (hopefully I can contribute at some point). I've also been around geoengineeringwatch.org and seen the uh... spurious claims and actually *read* the stuff in the documents page (kinda seems like he didn't make it very laymen-person-legible). Basically, my mother and step dad have been sending me these videos, I've been trying to debunk them the best that I can (but I'm a chem grad student, and I'm busy). Here is my problem: My mom thinks she has "chemtrail flu" and in reality has a sinus infection and has been sick for months because she will not seek treatment. Every time I debunk a video, my step-dad (total conspiracyphiliac) comes up with another! I guarantee the nocebo effect is playing a large part in keeping my mother ill!

How do I deal with this?? It's getting serious. This woman and others are causing people to not seek treatment for preventably harmful diseases. My mom can't be the only one gullible enough to buy into the chemtrail flu thing. This is like when cults/religions prohibit people from going to the doctor. Well, almost. Do these speakers realize that this effect exists? It's not only harmful at an individual level, but on a societal level as well, with fear-mongering and (it seems to me) an encouragement toward rejection of any sort of critical thinking.

I apologize for my non-constructive post, I am usually much more articulate and am quite dedicated to the cause of debunking in general, but I just wanted to ask for advice. I am really at a loss, all my citations of evidence to the contrary has fallen on mostly blind eyes and deaf ears. Also, it seems like conspiracy theorists have a LOT more time on their hands than I do, so I feel like we're pretty out-numbered.

So, thank you guys for doing what you do, and any advice will be much appreciated!