Could the Middle East Spheres be a form of spoofing?

John J.

Senior Member.
[Admin: thread split from: https://www.metabunk.org/threads/mi...served-apparent-spherical-uap-via-aaro.12932/ ]

Just to "throw something out there" which might be worth considering (or not),
...and to get my apologies in in advance,

(1) I don't think the following suggestion is a likely explanation of the "sphere"
(2) The possibility of, e.g., a metallicized balloon seems a better, simpler explanation as far as I can tell
(3) I have no special knowledge of UAVs/ camera technology/ electronic or cyber warfare
(4)-Meaning that, I accept the following idea might be obviously implausible to you chaps and chapesses with knowledge of these things
(5) The following idea does involve the "multiplication of entities" and so falls foul of Occam's razor (unless it is the simplest explanation covering all the relevant facts, which is probably unlikely)

Is it possible that the "sphere" is not a physical object being viewed by the RPV, but the result of deliberate interference with the feed to the RPV operators?

Something like this:
Fig1 - Copy.jpg
We know that a US drone has been successfully "hacked" by the Iranian military
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iran–U.S._RQ-170_incident (Wikipedia article describing the in-flight capture of a US RQ-170 Sentinel drone by Iran, 05/12/2011).
The Iranian authorities later claimed to have decrypted the footage taken by that drone
(BBC news item, https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-21373353, "Iran shows 'hacked US spy drone' video footage",
07/02/13).

I would have thought that signals to and from the drone are encrypted, nevertheless Iranian personnel were able to overcome this. I doubt if Iran is a leading state in cryptoanalysis or EW.